The Official Website of the okotoks oilers

The Official Website of the okotoks oilers

Aug 22 FINAL
Bandits 2
Dragons 4
Aug 22 FINAL
Wolverines 0
Thunder 6
Aug 22 FINAL
Pontiacs 4
Oil Barons 5
Aug 23 7:00pm
Storm -
Crusaders -
Aug 23 7:30pm
Oil Barons -
Pontiacs -
Aug 23 7:30pm
Thunder -
Wolverines -
Aug 24 3:30pm
Storm -
Bobcats -
prev next

Hockey Operations

James Poole - Head Coach/General Manager


James Poole is entering his 5th year with the Oilers organization, guiding the team to second place in the AJHL South Division for the past two years running. Prior to coaching, James’ playing background included 3 seasons of NCAA college hockey at Lake Forest College in Illinois. In the three seasons prior, James coached the Calgary Midget AAA Buffaloes. In those 3 seasons, the Buffaloes won back-to-back AMHL & Pacific Regional championships on their way to 4th and 2nd place showings at the TELUS Cup National Midget Championship. Poole also led the Buffaloes to capture the 2008 Mac’s Midget Tournament Championship, the first local team to accomplish that fear in 10 years. During his Midget AAA tenure, Poole was honored with the 2008 Mac’s Midget Tournament Outstanding Coach and the 2010 AMHL Coach of the Year




Bobby Fox - Associate Coach & Assistant GM







Tyler Deis - Assistant Coach & Director of Community Development

Tyler Deis is entering his second year with the Oilers organization in 2014-15. New this year is his role as Director of Community Development. Deis will be working with various groups throughout the season to provide developmental assistance to young hockey players. He has spent a cumulative eight years with the hockey program at Edge School in Calgary (including two years as the head coach of their prep team). As a player, Deis spent four years at Minnesota State as a Moorhead before playing five seasons of professional hockey in both the ECHL and CHL.





Mike Elchuk - Trainer


Jay Magnussen - Director of Player Personnel


Doug "Crash" Crashley - Strength & Conditioning Consultant


Scouting Staff

  • Marv Resler - Head Scout
  • Jason Abramoff
  • Thor Bahl
  • Bryce Campbell
  • Brad Cobb
  • Jeremy Friesen
  • Sandy Henry
  • Gord Jones
  • Jesse Perrin