Dylan Holloway named Most Valuable Player

Posted February 28th, 2019 @ 12:55 pm

Photo Cred – Chad Goddard Photography


The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced Dylan Holloway of the Okotoks Oilers as the 2018-19 AJHL MVP.  Carter Savoie (Sherwood Park Crusaders) was named as AJHL Rookie of the Year and Brooks Bandits Head Coach Ryan Papaioannou has been selected as AJHL Coach of the Year.

The award winners are determined through three stages of voting by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Most Valuable Player- Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

Okotoks Oilers centre and NHL top prospect, Dylan Holloway, is the 2018-19 AJHL MVP and recipient of the Alberta Old Time Hockey Players trophy.

Holloway, 17, leads the AJHL in scoring with 88 points (40G, 48A) and has averaged 1.7 points per game.  Dylan recorded 28 multi-point games for the Oilers, including five 4-point games, scored six game winning goals, and was selected as the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game 13 times.   He is a key member of the Oilers leadership group as an alternate captain and in October 2018 was recognized as the AJHL and CJHL Player of the Month.

Dylan Holloway (Bragg Creek, AB) won a gold medal with Canada at the 2018 Hlinka-Gretzky Cup and represented Canada as a member of Team West at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge.   The University of Wisconsin commit participated in the 2019 CJHL Prospects Game despite being a year away from draft eligibility.

Okotoks has locked in a second-place finish in the Viterra AJHL South Division standings and secured a first round match-up with the Calgary Canucks in the 2019 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs

? 2018-2019 Award Finalists: Dylan Holloway – Okotoks Oilers, William Lemay – Brooks Bandits, Luke Lush – Drayton Valley Thunder, Reed Morison ? Fort McMurray Oil Barons
? 2017-2018 Award Winner: Chris Van Os-Shaw – Spruce Grove Saints