Former Oiler Corban Knight Named Abbotsford Heat Man of the Year

The Okotoks Oilers would like to congratulate one of our most famous alumni, Corban Knight, on winning the Abbotsford Heat IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. Keep up the hard work Corban, we can't wait to see what the future holds for you in what is sure to be an amazing career!


Abbotsford, BC – The Abbotsford Heat are proud to announce that Corban Knight has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Abbotsford community during the 2013-14 season.

In his first season in the American Hockey League, Corban has been committed to his craft both on and off the ice. When community appearances are posted in the dressing room, Corban is always one of the first players to sign up. He carries himself with professionalism and has an infectious smile that creates an instant connection with kids, adults, and seniors. He has represented the Heat in over 80% of our community events. What really sets Corban apart is the variety of appearances he makes, including: hospital and school visits, guest coaching at hockey academies, anti-bullying rallies, and team signings. This season Corban spoke to 200+ people after a home game on “Faith & Family” night. His personal sharing of his faith was open, honest and showed strength and humanity in a professional athlete. Whether it was motivating Special Olympians at a hockey practice to cracking jokes with seniors is why he stands out and inspires all those who have the pleasure of meeting him. His maturity and ability to connect with strangers is impressive. Corban exemplifies more than once excellence, he embodies the very notion of a leader both in the locker room and within the community.

Corban Knight is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2013-14 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this month.