Kyle Gordon named AJHL Most Dedicated Player for 2018-19

Posted February 27th, 2019 @ 1:46 pm

Photo Creds – Chad Goddard Photography


The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced the winners of three League Awards, including Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender and Most Dedicated Player.  The award winners are determined through three stages of voting by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

Okotoks Oilers team captain Kyle Gordon is the winner of the Don McNabb Memorial Trophy as Most Dedicated Player.  The award is presented annually to the player judged as the most dedicated to his team.  Gordon is the first Oilers player to receive the League award.

“As an 18-year-old rookie forward, Kyle made a seamless transition to our organization due to his strong mental makeup, character, and relentless work ethic,” stated Oiler GM / Head Coach Tyler Deis.  “As a big, powerful forward, Kyle has continuously demonstrated his perseverance in order to succeed at the AJHL level with his endless hours of extra skating work to maintain his highest level of play.  Now in his third AJHL season, Kyle ceases to exemplify his amazing attitude for the game itself, as evident with his sportsmanlike – 75 minutes in penalties over three seasons of play, and unwavering respect for teammates and opponents alike. Despite multiple major injuries over his time as an AJHL student-athlete, Kyle’s attributes have allowed him to rehabilitate and come back to the game as strong as ever on the ice and as an even bigger component and leader in the dressing room.”

Gordon (Cochrane, AB) has led the Oilers to a second-place finish in the Viterra AJHL South Division standings and secured a first round match-up with the Calgary Canucks in the 2019 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs.  Kyle has been a key offensive producer for the Oilers with 37 points (14G, 23A) in the 2018-19 season, and a career total of 125 points (45G, 80A) in 145 regular season games.

• 2018-2019 Award Finalists: Alex Young – Canmore Eagles, Kyle Gordon – Okotoks Oilers, Taner Miller – Fort McMurray Oil Barons, Connor Blake – Grande Prairie Storm
• 2017-2018 Award Winner: Shane Fraser – Fort McMurray Oil Barons

The award recipients will be presented with a trophy and recognized at a home game throughout the final weekend of the AJHL regular season and the opening games of the 2019 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs.