Oilers Alumni – Tanner Ockey receives Scott Winkler Award from Colorado College

Athletic Communications
Colorado College
4/24/2016 12:34:00 PM


Seven Colorado College hockey players received awards at the annual team banquet Sunday morning at the Colorado Springs Marriott Hotel.

The event celebrated the 2015-16 campaign, the second under head coach Mike Haviland, as well as seniors Cody Bradley, Hunter Fejes, Jared Hanson and Michael King.

Fejes earned the M.B. Hopper Award as the team's leading scorer after posting a team-high 22 points this season. He notched a team-high 13 goals, including three game-winners, and added nine assists in his final season as a Tiger.

The other five major on-ice awards were presented to freshmen. Andrew Farny won the Steve Ebert Award for his combination of dedication, desire, ability and sportsmanship and Tanner Ockey was given the Scott Winkler Award praising his humility, optimism and support. Ebert, a 1966 graduate, was killed in an Army Air Training plane crash in 1970 while Winkler passed away unexpectedly in June of 2013 after completing his senior season.