Oilers captain Spak, head coach Deis nominated for league awards

OKOTOKS, AB (February 17, 2023) — Okotoks Oilers captain Dean Spak (Calgary, AB) and head coach Tyler Deis (Calgary, AB) have been nominated for two of the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s annual league awards, it was announced today.

Spak, 19, was nominated for the AJHL Most Dedicated Player Award. In his first season as team captain and third full campaign with the team, the Calgary Northstars grad has scored 18 points (6 goals, 12 assists) in 24 games, despite a nearly two-month long injury absence from September to November. Last season, he was the team’s second-highest scoring playoff performer with 10 points in 14 games.

Deis, 48, is up for his third AJHL Coach of the Year award, having previously won the award in 2018 and 2020. In nearly six full seasons with the team, Deis has recorded 241 wins, with the Oilers consistently in the top half of the AJHL South standings and among the national leaders in securing NCAA Division I commitments for players.

Selected by voting of the AJHL’s head coaches, the award winners will be announced at the end of the regular season in early March.

Full Award Finalists