Riley Morris – Nomination for Top Goaltender for 2016-17 Season

In partnership with RBC, the Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the finalists for the 2016-2017 League Awards.  The awards include Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year. 

The Alberta Junior Hockey League’s General Managers and Coaches have selected finalists from each division through the first two phases of voting.  The award winners for each of the categories listed below will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced during the last week of the 2016-2017 AJHL Regular Season.

2016-2017 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

(2016 Winner – Bobby McMann – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits
    Logan Drackett – Calgary Canucks
    Justin Young – Whitecourt Wolverines
    Ian Mitchell – Spruce Grove Saints

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels

(2016 Winner – Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits)

    Kyler Kupka – Camrose Kodiaks
    Oliver Chau – Brooks Bandits
    Jake Gresh – Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Austin McGrath – Lloydminster Bobcats

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers

(2016 Winner – Brinson Pasichnuk – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits
    Allan MacPherson – Calgary Canucks
    Ian Mitchell – Spruce Grove Saints
    Curtis Roach – Fort McMurray Oil Barons

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

(2016 Winner – Matthew Murray, Spruce Grove Saints)

    Logan Drackett – Calgary Canucks
    Riley Morris – Okotoks Oilers
    Patrick Gora – Camrose Kodiaks
    Eric Szudor – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Pierce Diamond – Whitecourt Wolverines

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

(2016 Winner – Tyler Busch – Spruce Grove Saints)

    Ben Assad – Calgary Canucks
    Logan Ferguson – Canmore Eagles
    Ryan Symington – Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Morgan Messenger – Whitecourt Wolverines

Coach of the Year

(2016 Winner – Rick Swan – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    James Poole – Calgary Canucks
    Andrew Milne – Canmore Eagles
    Tom Keca – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Gord Thibodeau – Whitecourt Wolverines

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2016-2017 AJHL Regular Season.

    Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
    Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
    Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
    Stewy Stewart Memorial Award – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
    Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
    Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country's Men's and Women's National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada's National Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels.