Seth Bernard-Docker Commits to University of Denver Pioneers

Written By: Gino De Paoli
Photo: Chad Goddard Photography


Okotoks, AB ? The Okotoks Oilers of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) are proud to announce that 2001 born defenceman Seth Bernard-Docker (Canmore, Alberta) has committed to the University of Denver Pioneers for the 2021-22 season.


Located in Denver, Colorado, the Pioneers play in the NCAA?s National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) under third year Head Coach David Carle. The Pioneers have won 25 Conference Championships, participated in 30 NCAA tournaments, 17 berths in the Frozen Four, and are eight-time NCAA Champions, including their most recent win in 2017.


Bernard-Docker, 18, in his sophomore season with the Oilers registered 32 points (5 goals, 27 assists) in 54 regular season games.  In his rookie season with the green and gold he scored 21 points (3 goals, 18 assists) in 56 regular season games and followed that up with 9 points (2 goals, 7 assists) in 14 Inter Pipeline playoff games.


Oilers Head Coach / General Manager / Director of Hockey Development Tyler Deis says, Bernard-Docker?s game has improved immensely since joining the team as an affiliate player, to now being a leader on the Oiler?s blue line.

?Seth?s evolution from an affiliate player to now an everyday defenceman in the AJHL is remarkable,? he says. ?His work ethic, ability and grit have made it a pleasure for us as coaching staff to watch, as we put him every situation we?re faced with during a game. We know in the 2020-21 season he is going to be a huge contributor to our success and can?t wait to have him back in Okotoks this fall.?


Bernard-Docker also received an invited to last year?s Team Canada West selection camp for the World Junior A Challenge.


The Oilers would like to congratulate Seth and his family on his achievement and for their dedication to our program and the local community both on and off the ice.


Seth is the ninth Oiler on the 2020-21 roster committed to an NCAA Division I Institution.

Carson Dyck (Penn State University)
Louis Jamernik (University of North Dakota
Dylan James (University of North Dakota)
Brett Moravec (University of Wisconsin)
Brayden Morrison (University of Wisconsin)
Zane Kindrachuk (Niagara University)
Coltan Wilkie (Colorado College)
Jack Works (University of Denver)

For more information please contact:

Tyler Deis
Head Coach / General Manager / Director of Hockey Development
Okotoks Oilers Hockey Club
Cell: 403-389-1216